Leslie Rees Fremantle Lecture

This event honours Mr. Leslie Rees, who died in 2000, leaving behind a legacy of unparalleled diversity in journalism, travel writing, drama, and of course, children’s literature. Leslie won the very first Children’s Book Council Book of the Year award in 1946 with the picture book, The Story of Karrawingi the Emu, illustrated by Walter Cunningham.

To keep up to date with What's On at The Literature Centre, and for announcements of future lectures, please joining our mailing list on the home page of this website or follow us on Facebook and Instagram. 

Previous Leslie Rees Fremantle Lecture presenters include:

  • The Hon. Kim Beazley AC, Mark Greenwood, Meg McKinlay, James Foley and Sacha Burbridge (2019)
  • - 25th Year Celebration Events held in 2018 -
  • Coral Tulloch (2016)
  • Tony Eaton (2014)
  • Shaun Tan (2013)
  • Libby Gleeson (2011)
  • Jan Ormerod (2010)
  • Markus Zusak (2009)
  • Matt Ottley (2008)
  • Jackie French (2007)
  • Barbara Ker Wilson (2004)
  • Christobel Mattingley (2002)
  • Libby Hathorn (2001)
  • James Moloney (2000)
  • Mem Fox (1997)
  • Gary Crew (inaugural lecture 1995)